jump to navigation

Plum Mania 3: Plum Engagement Tart 10.12.2009

Posted by Dan Sheehan in Recipes.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Even though I made this I STILL WANT TO EAT IT THROUGH THE SCREENFinally, we wrap up plum mania (and the last of the plums from our coworker’s tree with this mouthwatering plum tart.  Beautiful right?  Yep, sometimes I impress even myself.  This was the first time that Bread and Buttress has made pie crust…ever.

Pie crust is what I like to consider one of those “Othello” type skills.  Needless to say, daunting.  However, with some insider tips (thanks Elaine) I felt confident.  Biggest tip: everything should be hella cold.  So, after mixing the dough, I refrigerated it.  Hours later, after rolling it, I refrigerated it.  After forming it in the pie pan, fridge.  What resulted was a flaky yet strong crust. that adequately held the contents of the tart.

Anyhow, if you’d like further crust information, email me.  I’m happy to share.  The tart itself uses washed, pitted, and halved plums that have been lightly sugared (because they were super ripe already).  The plums sat on top of an almond paste painstakingly made by my skilled girlfriend.  A brandy custard was poured over carefully arranged plums.  An hour in the oven and topped with a homemade peach glaze (gives it that nice sheen).  The results:

Fuzzy enjoyment of said tart.

It deserves to be noted that this tart was fashioned at the last minute to celebrate the engagement of two dear and awesome friends.  Nothing celebrates better than food right?  Congrats Joe and Kelly!

Comments»

1. aiqpdlaj@gmail.com - 10.14.2013

サマンサタバサ 財布
セリーヌ 財布 http://www.thfytz.com/


Leave a Reply

